CNMI House split on choice for speaker, seat vacant for now

By Jacob Nakamura

[email protected]

The 20 members of the 22nd Commonwealth House of Representatives split their votes down party lines between Democrat Edmund Villagomez and Republican Angel Demapan for speaker.

The seat remains vacant until at least one member from one side switches allegiances.

The members were sworn in shortly after 10 a.m. today by Chief Justice Alexandro Castro.

326 views0 comments